top of page
73241825_1156700907870706_2786650802565939200_n.jpg

St. Andrew / St. Ann Catholic Church

Image by Josh Applegate

Make a donation

Click here to make a donation!
About
IMG_1999alt_edited.jpg
Church Altar

Biography

ST. ANDREW CATHOLIC CHURCH stands as a beacon of faith in Murphysboro. The history of St. Andrew is a unique one. Unique in the fact that the first Mass was officiated by the Bishop of the diocese which comprised all of Southern Illinois. Unique in the fact that for more than three-quarters of the first century of its existence it was guided by the spiritual direction of only two pastors, Fr. Kaspar Schauerte and Fr. Joseph Taggert.

In 1867, Joseph Van Cloostere with his mother and sister settled on a farm about three miles south of Murphysboro.  It was he who, sensing the need and desire of the pioneer group to establish a church, addressed a letter in 1868 to "Catholic Priest", Cairo, Illinois, inquiring about the address of the nearest Catholic Priest.  An answer came telling Joseph Van Cloostere that the Bishop himself would be in Anna for Confirmation on a certain date.  The youth made the trip to Anna, and the Bishop agreed to come to Murphysboro on the eve of the Ascension, 1868.  Arrangements were made with Medar Lucier for the Bishop to stay at his home.  The Mass was said to have taken place in the Lucier home.

On the feast of Ascension, May 21, 1868, the first Mass ever to be said in Murphysboro was offered by the Fr. Damien Junker, the first Bishop of the Diocese of Alton, the See to which all of  Southern Illinois belonged. Impressed by the large outcome, the Bishop promised the group that Fr. F. Fockele, then pastor in Anna, would offer the Mass for them once a month.

A deed dated June 15, 1868, and signed by M. H. Logan, his wife Evaline, and J. V. Logan, conveyed two and one-half acres east of out-lot number 6 to Medar Lucier, Jacob King, and Henry Boucher, trustees of the Catholic Church.  The amount paid for the land was $800. The site purchased is the land on which the present church stands.  In the spring of 1869 the church, a frame building 24 feet by 50 feet with a small turret topped by a cross was planned and building began.

Fr. Theodore Wigman, replaced Fr. Fockele and served as Pastor until April, 1872.  He baptized 34 during his short stay and was succeeded in October, 1872 by Fr. Herman Jungmann. Fr.  Jungmann was the one who, after only 3 years since the first mass, made Catholic education in St. Andrew's almost synonymous with it's history. Before Fr. Jungmann was transferred in February, 1877, he had administered the Sacrament of Baptism to 177 members of the parish. He returned to Murphysboro to offer the Mass of dedication of the new St. Andrew's Church on October 16, 1889.

IMG_2004.JPG

Parish Administration

Pastor

Father Joel Seipp

Finance Manager

Tammy Gartner

Secretary

Cindy Thompson

Administrator

Bill Schwartz

Coordinator of
Family Faith Formation

Patty Williams
Parish Administration
bottom of page